8 Comments

Days 63 & 64, West Yellowstone, Montana

50 miles, 2,808 miles

What more spectacular bike ride can there be than through Yellowstone National Park?  The mountainous scenery and geysers, hot springs, mud pots and other other-worldly thermals were amazing.

Surging waterfalls all along my ride.

Magnificent Old Faithful Lodge, built shortly after the turn of the century.

Old Faithful Lodge built from area timber and stone.

Fly fishing along the banks of the Madison River.

Leaving Old Faithful, all the ground seemed to be smoking.

My contact with a grizzly — and wolves, an eagle, and owl — was at a wildlife center in West Yellowstone.

On a final note, I’ve decided to leave the Adventure Cycling group (but will be continuing on the TransAm route).  There were just some compelling issues that I’d rather not air here.

Tomorrow, headed north!

8 comments on “Days 63 & 64, West Yellowstone, Montana

  1. Whatever it takes. There are some benefits to going solo so enjoy yourself.

  2. This is such a fantastic trip. I look forward to your update each day. Take your time and enjoy the journey.

  3. I can’t promise but I am sure going to try to get up to Grangeville to meet with you. good riding until then. If you could give me a heads up of where you might be found up there. See you.

  4. Sorry you had to break off from the group and go solo. I’ve often wondered how people deal with personality issues on a trip like that. It only takes one person to screw things up. I’ve enjoyed following your posts I too want to travel on the Trans Am in a couple of years when I retire. Michael Wong

Leave a Reply

