3 Comments

Cross Country Bike Ride – May 4 – Aug 4

A change of plans!  Due to combination of factors, I’m now riding across the country, but doing it with Adventure Cycling, and organization founded in 1973 that started by producing bike maps (one of the largest route networks in the world at 41,399 miles).  They added bike tours to their services years ago, from self-supported where each biker carries his own gear, evening accommodations are in campgrounds, and cooking is a shared affair (this will be my trip) . . . to inn-to-inn trips where gear is transported for you and accommodations are in inns, small hotels,  and bed and breakfasts.

There are 11 riders signed up right now . . . and we’re leaving May 4 from Yorktown, VA . . . and riding from east to west.  We’ll finish on August 4 and I’ll travel home via Amtrak.

More later!

– Russ

_______________________________________________

Feb. 2, 2012

The bike is in!  The Surley Long Haul Trucker has been delivered to the local bike shop, Cycle Werks.  I’m waiting for the shoes to come in to have the bike adjusted to fit me.  In today’s mail, I also received the Tubus front and rear racks.  I should receive the Ortlieb panniers in the next few days.

Now — if the weather will just cooperate, I’ll be able to get out and put some miles on the LHT!

_______________________________________________

March 1, 2012


Here we go, the Surley Long Haul Trucker with Ortlieb panniers attached front and rear.  It’s been such a mild winter that I’ve been able to get out on the bike a few times.

What a great bike!  It has such a solid ride and with its wide range of gearing the bike rides like a much lighter bike.

My next purchase will be a handlebar pack, from the same company that makes the panniers . . . waterproof and roomy.

_____________________________________________

The German-made Ortlieb waterproof handlebar bag with equally waterproof map case.  The quality and engineering of the Ortlieb products are remarkable.

Wednesday, March 7:  rode 50 miles in 30-40 mph winds.  To my back, wonderful!  Into the teeth of the wind, very tough going — hard even riding 6-7 mph.  Also rode 42 miles yesterday and am planning on riding from Bowling Green to Columbus on Wednesday (120 miles).  Weather should be nice!
_____________________________________________

Check out this video!

vimeo.com/37245921
_____________________________________________

3 comments on “Cross Country Bike Ride – May 4 – Aug 4

  1. I am very sad you are leaving me for three months. I think I will go live with my nieces in Columbus.

  2. When the hell will you be going thru Kentucky? I might want to join you- if I can keep up. I can’t believe that Spenser is not going. There are dog trailors available.

  3. Can’t wait to see the photo of the new bike with panniers and you atop it all.

Leave a Reply

