5 Comments

Florence and Eugene, waiting to take the train back to Ohio

Joe and Dove, from Eugene, were generous enough to offer to drive me back to Eugene from Florence, but I decided that after riding for over 4,000 miles, it would be embarrassing to get a ride rather than ride 80 miles.  So after a day of rest in Florence, I rode back (very scenic route).

Beautiful route back to Eugene.

A parting shot of Florence over the Siuslaw River.

Bridge to Florence from the state campground.

Delicious sticky bun as sustenence for my ride back to Eugene.

Flowers along the route.

I considered trading my bike for a little more relaxing mode of transportation.

A good-looking llama.

Enjoying a pound a blueberries at a blueberry stand.

Pick your own or buy already picked.

Eugene is a very bike-friendly community where every street has a bike lane and there are numerous bike paths. This one is 7.5 miles long starting from the center of the city.

Co-motion bike manufacturing plant and corporate headquarters.

I was given a tour of their factory (just 14 employees who produce, on average, 3 bicycles per day).  I also had a chance to test ride the Americano Rohloff bike with the internal Rohloff shifting mechanism and belt drive.  What a wonderful bicycle . . . and just $5,200!  The entire bicycle is hand-made at the plant.

A satisfying lunch at the High Street cafe along with a locally brewed beer.

Ahhh

I spent the night last night at a hotel, camping, but enjoying the hot shower.  Eugene definitely has a counter-culture feel to it, with a lot of homeless people, but with a lot of people enjoying the out-of-doors as well (nice REI store here).  The menu of the restaurant where I had breakfast included dishes made from soy, tofu, eggs from free-range chickens, etc.  I think I would have been asked to leave if I had ordered sausage or bacon. 

You know you’re in a bigger city when I had to talk to three people here at the library to use a computer, and had to pay $3.  In all the nice libraries in the small towns on my trip the librarians would just nod to the sole computer for public use and I’d use it for as long as I wanted at no charge.

I do have to make a comment or two about a fellow traveler on the road with me . . . the nice folks driving RVs with their SUVs trailering behind.

I had trucks, 18-wheelers, coal trucks, grain trucks, logging trucks, pick-up trucks, cars, etc., pass me and by far the worst drivers — the most dangerous drivers — were those in these monsterous RVs.  Here’s some 65-year old guy who only drives this 2 mph rig once or twice a year and can’t seem to move over a few feet as he passes me.  I see him in the cab with is black socks up over his calves, his wife with their yappy little cat-sized white dog sitting in her lap.  There should be a special test drivers of these vehicles must pass before they’re permitted on the road!  Some are dangerous on a riding lawnmower.

 Okay, that’s off my chest!  (I do appreciate the professional truck drivers, as they are very courteous and make every effort to move over.) Now I have a few days to explore Eugene before catching the train back to Ohio!

5 comments on “Florence and Eugene, waiting to take the train back to Ohio

  1. One time when PAC Tour was crossing the country via their Northern Route (1998 or 2001), one of those RV’s killed a rider. The side view mirror hit the cyclist in the head. The senior citizen had recently purchased the RV. They scare me more than anything.

    Glad you made it safely across!

    Kim in Va Beach

    • I too agree those things are a menace and that is why I never ride without a mirror….
      If I see an RV… I move over just as they get there…… so if it is close I am already on my way to the ditch….. have a great trip home…. Jim

  2. I’ve enjoyed following you Tailwindz. Thanks for sharing your trip with us.

    Tom

  3. Amen on the RV’s. The size should require a commercial drivers license and the requisite DMV test.

  4. Russ: What an amazing journey. I have really enjoyed following you online as you traveled west. Have a safe trip home. We return to BG on August 20th, will be anxious to hear the stories. Congratulations, Barry and Vickie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

